This year’s judging panel consists of two nationally recognised art experts. Jane Devery, Curator of Contemporary Art at the National Gallery of Victoria (NGV) and Jane Stewart, Principal Curator of Art, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery (TMAG) selected the following artists for the finalists’ exhibition:


Tidal 16 Finalists

Dianne Allison/Louisa Bufardici/Janet Bush/Alex Davern/Julie Fragar/Joey Gracia/Helga Groves/Katherine Hattam/Liam James/Anthony Johnson/Amber Koroluk-Stephenson/Michael Muruste/Penny Mason/Sara Manser/Tess Campbell/Troy Ruffels/David Stephenson & Martin Walch/ Evelyn Vyhnal/Megan Walch/Matt Warren/Carole Wilson/Anne Zahalka




Finalist Exhibition Opening & Award recipient announced: Friday 25 November 6:30 pm

Exhibition Closes: Sunday 29 January 2017 


For further information please contact the Devonport Regional Gallery: P. (03) 6424 8296 or E. artgallery@devonport.tas.gov.au


The Tidal: City of Devonport National Art Award is a biennial, acquisitive award. Artists residing in Australia are invited to submit 2-dimensional artworks that reflect on tidal – the natural, cultural, personal or political concerns related to the sea and coastal regions.

The Award provides a contemporary platform for artists to ponder the myriad perspectives and challenges inherent within the interconnections of land and sea while also encouraging excellence in concept, innovation and execution of 2-dimensional artwork.

The $15,000 Major Award is sponsored by the Devonport City Council and the Devonport Regional Gallery Friends Committee. $1,000 People’s Choice Award is sponsored by Collins Real Estate, Devonport. This is a non-acquisitive award selected by the viewers of Tidal. The Award is announced at the conclusion of the exhibition.

The Award aims to:

Print Friendly Page